last six years of which he was chairman of the House Committee on Education.

In 1887 Mr. Estabrook joined the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy, serving as a trustee from 1908, and as auditor from 1911, and was the Commencement speaker in 1916 when the honorary degree of Doctor of Pharmacy was conferred on him in recognition of his long and valuable services to Pharmacy and to the College.

SOCIETIES AND COLLEGES.

RHO CHI.

The Rho Chi Society held its fourteenth annual convention in New York City on August 17th. Dean Robert C. Wilson from the University of Georgia was the speaker at the annual banquet immediately preceding the business session. The society made the first step toward a reserve fund that is expected to be of definite value to pharmacy. They appropriated from that district the sum of \$1000 as the first deposit in what is to be called the Cumulative Research Fund of the Rho Chi Society. It is hoped that this fund will be increased from time to time by contributions from interested parties as well as from the funds of the society. Further information concerning this fund may be attained by writing the national secretary. The following officers were installed to serve a two-year term:

National Secretary: Loyd E. Harris, University of Oklahoma, Norman, Oklahoma; National Treasurer: Professor W. G. Crockett, Medical College of Virginia, Richmond, Virginia; Members of the Executive Committee are: Marvin J. Andrews, University of Maryland, and Dr. A. H. Uhl, University of Wisconsin.

Announcement is made of the installation of the Rho Chi Chapter by the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy on May 27, 1937.

The annual meeting of the Vermont Pharmaceutical Association was held in Rutland on September 20, 1937. Hugh P. Bierne of Connecticut was the guest speaker, and the principal topics for general discussion were a state Fair Trade law and improvements in the Association's organization. The dues were raised to \$5.00 per year, and the new officers are: J. W. Blakely, Montpelier, President; Mrs. Mabel Clifford, Bethel, Vice-President; F. W. Wheeler, Springfield, Secretary-Treasurer.

ASSOCIATION DE FABRICANTES DE MEDICINES DE PUERTO RICO.

The above named is a newly organized association of Puerto Rican medicine manufacturers. The officers of the association are: Alejandro J. Cabassa, President; F. I. Carreras, First Vice-President, Lodo; F. L. Anselmi, Second Vice-President; Rolando Anglade, Secretary; and Francisco Sein, Treasurer. The directors are Dr. A. Giol Texidor, Lodo; Ishmael Moscoso, Lodo; Manuel Marin, Dr. Emilio Cumpiano and E. Bonano.

MANUFACTURERS OF PERFUMES AND MEDICINES, MEXICO.

Union Nacional de Fabricantes de Perfumeria y Medicines.—President, L. G. Aguilar, General Manager, H. E. Gerber & Cia., Venustiano Carraza No. 26, Mexico, D. F.; First Vice-President, Guillermo Garcia Colin, Director, Laboratorio Quimico Central, S. A., Guerrero 74; Second Vice-President, Oscar Villafante, General Manager, Picot Lebs., Inc., Regina 13; Treasurer, Guillermo Beick, Beick, Felix & Cia., Madero 39; Secretary, Manuel Leon Ortega, Manager, Hamburgo 218.

Members of the Board of Directors: Antonio de P. Giraud, Manager Cia. Medicinal La Campana, Tolsa 8; Paul Waltz, Manager, Waltz & Cia., Balderas 132; Herman Stoldt, Palma, No. 35; Eugenio Pinson, of Pinson Hermanos, Ramon Guzman 86; Elias Pardo, of Llano & Cia., Plaza de la Republica 40; Max Abbat, Lucerna 47; Jose Pomar Ruiz, Laboratories Higia, Av. Chapultepec 449; George Pfordte, Merck-Mexico, S. A., Versalles 15.

M. P. Lebeau, professor of pharmaceutical chemistry in the University of Paris, has been elected a member of the Academy of Sciences, Institute of France, to take the place of the late M. H. Le Chatelier.

NATIONAL CANCER INSTITUTE.

Senate Bill No. 2067 provides for fostering and aiding in coördinating research relating to cancer, to establish the National Cancer Institute.

Reference was made to this important measure in the April JOURNAL 1937, page 284; its purposes, etc. The bill came up for consideration and was passed.